Com logo

Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies

Office of Geriatrics and
Interprofessional Aging Studies

Com logo

Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging



Partially updated October 2018.

Information below is general in regard to semester offering and faculty/instructor.  Please check on buckeyelink for the most up-to-date information or directly with the departments to be sure specific courses will be offered as indicated. 

Learn about some of the instructors below via Aging Connections.

Print Master List

Core Courses

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
Social Work 7610: Integrative Seminar I on Aging and Health G 3 (Required course) Autumn 2019 F 8:00 - 10:45 AM Shannon Jarrott, Ph.D., jarrott.1@osu.edu; Shantha Balaswamy, Ph.D., balaswamy.1@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 7650S: Interdisciplinary Case Studies in Clinical Gerontology U G 2 (Required course) Pre-requisite: SW 7610 Summer 2019 Online Cynthia Dougherty, MSW, PhD
MedColl 7700.04 Interprofessional Seminar in Clinical Practice G 2 (Students select either MedColl 7700.04 or Anthro 8193.07) Autumn; Spring; Summer Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu at least one month prior to semester in which you plan to take course.
Anthro 8193.07: Research Issues in Gerontology G 3 (Students select either Anthro 8193.07 or MedColl 7700.04) Autumn; Spring; Summer (Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu with questions regarding this course)

Elective Courses

Elective Courses (Please note: Elective courses identified with an * are intended only for students within the college/school offering the course. All other electives are open to all students pursuing the Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging.)

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
*Anthropology 5193.07: Physical Anthropology, Independent Study
U G 1-4
Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu (Please contact Douglas Crews, Ph.D., at crews.8@osu.edu or 292-1329 for appointment.)
Anthropology 5642: Growth, Development, & Aging U G 3 Spring 2020;TTH 8:00AM - 9:20AM Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Anthropology 5645: Biology of Senescence U G 3 Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Arts & Sciences 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine; Allied Med and Pharmacy) G 2 Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
DESIGN 6400: Graduate Design Studio: Future Aging and Social Engagement G 3 Spring 2020 Select one: M 2:00PM- 6:00PM TTH 2:30PM- 4:30PM Elizabeth Sanders, Ph.D., sanders.82@osu.edu Maria Palazzi, palazii.1@osu.edu
DESIGN 7193: Individual Studies Spring 2020 TBA Hui Zheng, along with Elizabeth Sanders, Ph.D., sanders.82@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 (Cross-listed in HthRhSc and Nursing and MedColl 6880.01) Spring 2020 T 5:30PM- 7:15PM Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.03: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Ethical issues Common to the Helping Professions U G 2 Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
*ESCE 3193.40: Individual Studies U G 1-3 Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
HDFS 5430: Adult Development and Aging U G 3 Not Currently Offered Eugene Folden, Ph.D, folden.1@osu.edu
HDFS 993: Individual Studies G 1-5 Not Currently Offered With Faculty direction
HTHRHSC 5600: Global Aging G 3 Spring 2020 Online Jessica Schoen, shoen.68@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5610: Death, Loss, and Grief From Multiple Perspectives G 2 Spring 2020 W 5:00PM- 7:45PM Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5620: Aging, Accessibility, and Design U G 3 Not Currently Offered Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5650: Aging and Public Policy Issues G 3 Not Currently Offered Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5660: Longterm Care Services Across the Continuum G 4 Spring 2020 TTH 2:20PM- 3:40PM Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.01: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Interprofessional Care G 2 Spring 2020 T 5:30PM- 7:15PM Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.03: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Ethical Issues Common to Helping Professions UG and G 2 Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 6193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
HTHRHSC 7010: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 7193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Spring 2020 Select one: T 12:30PM- 1:25PM T 4:30PM- 7:30PM TBA With Faculty Direction
KNHES 5493: Fitness Program Development and Evaluation - Older Adult Exercise Prescription G 1 Not Currently Offered Faculty Unassigned
KNHES 8999: Independent Study Not Currently Offered
*Law 7193: Individual Studies P 1-4 Spring 2020 TBA
Law 8400: Interprofessional Education: Care of Patient/Client L 2 Spring 2020 T 4:00- 5:50PM Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu, along with Marya Kolman, JD, kolman.3@osu.edu
Law 8403: Ethical Issues U P G 2 Not Currently Offered Stan Laughlin, JD, laughlin.1@osu.edu
Law 8709: Wills, Trusts and Estates L 3 Spring 2020 M W 8:00 - 9:15 AM (Au) Ed Segelken, JD, segelken.3@osu.edu, (Spr) Bruce Johnson, johnson.726@osu.edu
MedColl 6880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
MedColl 7710: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences, Pharmacy) G 2 Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
MedColl 7795-10: Issues and Trends in Aging G 2 Not Currently Offered
Nursing 5111: Palliative and End of Life Care G 2 Not Currently Offered Kathy Thompson, RN, Ph.D., thompson.2@osu.edu
Nursing 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Medicine, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Nursing 7193: Individual Studies in Nursing G 1-4 Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
*Nursing 7228.01: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum I G 3 Not Currently Offered
*Nursing 7228.02: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum II G 3 Spring 2020 W 8:00AM- 11:00AM TBA (CLN) Janine Overcash, Ph.D., GNP-BC, janine.overcash@osumc.edu, along with Joyce Karl, Mary Alice Momeyer, Shannon Linder, TBA (CLN)
*Nursing 7268.03: Advanced Practice Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical Practicum III G 4 Didactic Credits Spring 2020 Choose one: T 9:00AM- 4:00PM W 5:00PM- 8:00PM TBA (CLN) Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu, along with Kelly Casler, casler.11@osu.edu Melinda McGaughy, mcgaughy.5@osu.edu Oralea Pittman, pittman.54@osu.edu Timothy Landers, landers.37@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 6120: Occupation in Life and Community G 2 Not Currently Offered
Occ Therapy 7260: Occupational Therapy for Older Adults G 2 Spring 2020 M 1:30PM- 3:30PM, T 1:15PM- 3:15PM Christine Griffin, griffin.289@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 7280: Advanced Topics in Geriatrics G 2 Not Currently Offered
*Optometry 7450.06: Vision Rehabilitation P 1.5 Spring 2020 TBA Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
*Optometry 7460: Low Vision Rehabilitation and Gerontology P 5 Spring 2020 MF 9:00AM- 10:50 TBA (LAB) Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
Pharmacy 6193 Independent Study Spring 2020 TBA With Faculty Direction
Pharmacy 7090: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Allied Med, Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences) G P 1 Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Pharmacy 7170: Pain, Palliative Care and Geriatrics P 3 Not Currently Offered Bridget Protus, PharmD, bprotus@hospiscript.com
*Physical Therapy 8050: Topics in Rehabilitation and Long Term Care G 1 Autumn 2019 Th 11:10 - 12:10 AM Marka Salsberry, PT, DPT salsberry.10@osu.edu
*Physical Therapy 8270: Geriatric Management G 2 Autumn 2019 Th 8:00 - 10:05 AM Deb Kegelmeyer DPT, MS, GCS, Deb.Kegelmeyer@osumc.edu
PUBHEPI 6435: Chronic Disease Epidemiology G 3 Not Currently Offered Randall Harris, M.D., Ph.D., harris.44@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 6610: Introduction to Health Care Organization G 3 Autumn 2019 T, Th 9:35 - 10:55 AM Jennifer Hefner; hefner.48@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7611: Law and Ethics in Health Care G 3 Not Currently Offered Reem Aly, aly.6@osu.edu Efthimios Parasidis, parasidis.1@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7624: Health Economics for Experienced Professionals G 3 Not Currently Offered Wendy Xu, PhD, xu.1636@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7640: Mental Health and Disability Policy G 3 Not Currently Offered Sandra Tanenbaum, PhD, tanenbaum.1@osu.edu
*Public Health Independent Studies PUBHBIO, PUBHEHS, PUBHHBP, PUBHEPI, PUBHHMP Individual Studies G 1-3 Not Currently Offered With faculty Approval
Social Work 5009: Family Caregiving: Contemporary Issues, Programs & Policies G 3 (in class and web-based course offered) Not Currently Offered Marisa Sheldon, sheldon.127@osu.edu Jaclyn Gosh
Social Work 5011: Loss and Grief: A Social Work Practice Perspective U G 2 Summer 2019 Select One: T 8:00 - 11:10 AM W 1:30 - 4:40 PM Autumn 2019 F 5:30 - 7:15 PM Faculty Unassigned
*Social Work 7193: Individual Studies (Masters Students) G 1-3 Summer 2019 TBA Autumn 2019 TBA With Faculty Direction
Social Work 7523: Clinical Social Work Practice with Older Adults G 3 Not Currently Added Diana Kubovcik (community lecturer)
Social Work 7611: Integrative Seminar II on Aging and Health (Prereq: SW 7610) G 3 Autumn 2019 T 5:30 - 8:15 PM Jeanette Foster, foster.92@osu.edu
*Social Work 8193: Individual Studies (PhD Students) G 1-3 Summer 2019 TBA Autumn 2019 TBA With Faculty Approval
Sociology 5629: Health Disparities in Social Context U G 3 Autumn 2019 Select one: T, Th 2:20 - 3:40 PM W, F 9:35 - 10:55 AM Tiffany Thomson, thomson.46@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5605: Multicultural Aspects of Communication G 3 (Also 5605D, Distance Education) Autumn 2019 M W 11:10 - 12:30 PM Caitlin Cummings, cummings.135@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 5732: Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation U G 3 Autumn 2019 T ,Th 12:45 - 2:05 PM Julie Hazelbaker, Ph.D.,hazelbaker.22@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5760: Neurology of the Speech and Hearing Mechanism U G 3 Autumn 2019 M W 5:30 - 6:50 PM Eric Charles Bielefeld, bielefeld.6@gmail.com
Speech and Hearing Science 6733: Adult Audiologic Rehabilitation U G 3 Not Currently Offered Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 6735: Hearing Aids I U G 3 Not Currently Offered Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6761:Cognitive Communication Disorders in Adults U G 3 Not Currently Offered Jennifer Lundine, lundine.4@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6762: Language Disorders in Adults U G 3 Autumn 2019 T, Th 1:00 - 2:20 PM Stacy Harnish, Ph.D., harnish.18@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6763: Traumatic Brain Injury in Children and Adults U G 3 Not Currently Offered Janet Vuolo, vuolo.4@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7806: Adult Hearing Disorders G 3 Autumn 2019 Tu 6:00 - 7:20 PM W 2:15 - 3:35 PM Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu, along with Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7835: Hearing Aids II G 3 Summer 2019 M W 9:30 - 11:00 AM Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
Theater 5771.08: The Practice of Theatre and Aging U G 3 Not Currently Offered Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)
Theatre 5771.07: Crones, Curmudgeons, and Living Treasures U G 3 Not Currently Offered Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)

Copyright © 2013 The Ohio State University College of Medicine and the Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies, All rights reserved.

If you have a disability and experience difficulty accessing this content, contact aging@osu.edu   Notice of Non-Discrimination