Com logo

Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies

Office of Geriatrics and
Interprofessional Aging Studies

Com logo

Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging

The information below is general in regard to semester offering and faculty/instructor.  Please check on buckeyelink for the most up-to-date information or directly with the departments to be sure specific courses will be offered as indicated.  

Learn about some of the instructors below via Aging Connections.

Print Master List

Core Courses

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
Social Work 7610: Integrative Seminar I on Aging and Health G 3 (Required course) Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Shantha Balaswamy, PhD, balaswamy.1@osu.edu, along with Shantha Balaswamy, Ph.D., balaswamy.1@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 7650S: Interdisciplinary Case Studies in Clinical Gerontology U G 2 (Required course) Pre-requisite: SW 7610 Spring 2021; Not offered Summer 2021; Online Michele Stokes, PhD, Stokes.101@osu.edu, along with Cynthia Dougherty, MSW, PhD
MedColl 7700.04 Interprofessional Seminar in Clinical Practice G 2 (Students select either MedColl 7700.04 or Anthro 8193.07) Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021: TBA Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu at least one month prior to semester in which you plan to take course.
Anthro 8193.07: Research Issues in Gerontology G 3 (Students select either Anthro 8193.07 or MedColl 7700.04) Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021: TBA (Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu with questions regarding this course)

Elective Courses

Elective Courses (Please note: Elective courses identified with an * are intended only for students within the college/school offering the course. All other electives are open to all students pursuing the Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging.)

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
*Anthropology 5193.07: Physical Anthropology, Independent Study
U G 1-4
Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu (Please contact Douglas Crews, Ph.D., at crews.8@osu.edu or 292-1329 for appointment.)
Anthropology 5642: Growth, Development, & Aging U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Anthropology 5645: Biology of Senescence U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Arts & Sciences 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine; Allied Med and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
DESIGN 6400: Graduate Design Studio: Future Aging and Social Engagement G 3 Spring 2021; M 2:00pm-6:00 pm; TuTh 2:30-4:40 pm Summer 2021: TBA Elizabeth Sanders, Ph.D., sanders.82@osu.edu Maria Palazzi, palazii.1@osu.edu
DESIGN 7193: Individual Studies Spring 2021 TBA Summer 2021 TBA Hui Zheng, along with With Staff Direction
EDUCST 5880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 (Cross-listed in HthRhSc and Nursing and MedColl 6880.01) Spring 2021; Tu 5:30 - 7:15 pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Jamie Hall, hall.1571@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.03: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Ethical issues Common to the Helping Professions U G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
*ESCE 3193.40: Individual Studies U G 1-3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
HDFS 5430: Adult Development and Aging U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Eugene Folden, Ph.D, folden.1@osu.edu
HDFS 8193: Individual Studies G 1-5 Spring 2021: Online Summer 2021: TBA With Faculty direction
HTHRHSC 5600.01: Global Aging G 3 Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Jessica Schoen, Jessica.Schoen@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5610: Death, Loss, and Grief From Multiple Perspectives G 2 Spring 2021; We 5:00pm-7:00pm Summer 2021: Not Currently Offered Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5620: Aging, Accessibility, and Design U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5650: Aging and Public Policy Issues G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5660: Longterm Care Services Across the Continuum G 4 Spring 2021; TuTh 2:20pm- 3:40pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.01: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Interprofessional Care G 2 Spring 2021; Tu 5:30pm- 7:15pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.03: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Ethical Issues Common to Helping Professions UG and G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 6193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; TBA With Faculty Direction
HTHRHSC 7010: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 7193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; TBA With Faculty Direction
KNHES 5493: Fitness Program Development and Evaluation - Older Adult Exercise Prescription G 1 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Faculty Unassigned
KNHES 8999: Independent Study Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; TBA With Faculty Direction
*Law 7193: Individual Studies P 1-4 Spring 2021; Fr 10:00am-11:50 am; MoTu 10:50am- 12:05pm; TuWeThFr 12:20pm-1:15pm Summer 2021: TBA With Staff Direction
Law 8400: Interprofessional Education: Care of Patient/Client L 2 Spring 2021; Tu 5:30pm-7:20pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu, along with Marya Kolman, JD, kolman.3@osu.edu
Law 8403: Ethical Issues U P G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Stan Laughlin, JD, laughlin.1@osu.edu
Law 8709: Wills, Trusts and Estates L 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered (Au) Ed Segelken, JD, segelken.3@osu.edu, (Spr) Bruce Johnson, johnson.726@osu.edu
MedColl 6880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
MedColl 7710: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences, Pharmacy) G 2 Sprng 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
MedColl 7795.10: Issues and Trends in Aging G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered
Nursing 5111: Palliative and End of Life Care G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Kathy Thompson, RN, Ph.D., thompson.2@osu.edu
Nursing 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Medicine, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Nursing 7193: Individual Studies in Nursing G 1-4 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
*Nursing 7228.01: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum I G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered
*Nursing 7228.02: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum II G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Janine Overcash, Ph.D., GNP-BC, janine.overcash@osumc.edu, along with Joyce Karl, Mary Alice Momeyer, Shannon Linder, TBA (CLN)
*Nursing 7268.03: Advanced Practice Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical Practicum III G 4 Didactic Credits Spring 2021; Tu 9:00am-4:00pm (LEC), TBA (CLN); We 5:00pm-8:00pm (LEC), Online (CLN) Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu, along with Kelly Casler, casler.11@osu.edu Melinda McGaughy, mcgaughy.5@osu.edu Oralea Pittman, pittman.54@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 6120: Occupation in Life and Community G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered
Occ Therapy 7260: Occupational Therapy for Older Adults G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer2021; Not Currently Offered Christine Griffin, griffin.289@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 7280: Advanced Topics in Geriatrics G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered
*Optometry 7450.06: Vision Rehabilitation P 1.5 Spring 2021; TBA Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
*Optometry 7460: Low Vision Rehabilitation and Gerontology P 5 Spring 2021; MoFr 9:00am- 10:50am (LEC), TBA (CLN) Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
Pharmacy 6193 Independent Study Spring 2021; TBA Summer 2021; TBA With Faculty Direction
Pharmacy 7090: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Allied Med, Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences) G P 1 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Pharmacy 7170: Pain, Palliative Care and Geriatrics P 3 Spring 2021; Online TBA Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Bridget Protus, PharmD, bprotus@hospiscript.com
*Physical Therapy 8050: Topics in Rehabilitation and Long Term Care G 1 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Marka Salsberry, PT, DPT salsberry.10@osu.edu
*Physical Therapy 8270: Geriatric Management G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Deb Kegelmeyer DPT, MS, GCS, Deb.Kegelmeyer@osumc.edu
PUBHEPI 6435: Chronic Disease Epidemiology G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Randall Harris, M.D., Ph.D., harris.44@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 6610: Introduction to Health Care Organization G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Jennifer Hefner; hefner.48@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7611: Law and Ethics in Health Care G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Reem Aly, aly.6@osu.edu Efthimios Parasidis, parasidis.1@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7624: Health Economics for Experienced Professionals G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Wendy Xu, PhD, xu.1636@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7640: Mental Health and Disability Policy G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Sandra Tanenbaum, PhD, tanenbaum.1@osu.edu
*Public Health Independent Studies PUBHBIO, PUBHEHS, PUBHHBP, PUBHEPI, PUBHHMP Individual Studies G 1-3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
Social Work 5009: Family Caregiving: Contemporary Issues, Programs & Policies G 3 (in class and web-based course offered) Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Marisa Sheldon, sheldon.127@osu.edu
Social Work 5011: Loss and Grief: A Social Work Practice Perspective U G 2 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Faculty Unassigned
*Social Work 7193: Individual Studies (Masters Students) G 1-3 Spring 2021: TBA Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Scottye Cash; cash.33@osu.edu
Social Work 7523: Clinical Social Work Practice with Older Adults G 3 Spring 2021; Th 5:30pm-8:15pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Debra Hilliard; hilliard.16@osu.edu
Social Work 7611: Integrative Seminar II on Aging and Health (Prereq: SW 7610) G 3 Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Jeanette Foster, foster.92@osu.edu
*Social Work 8193: Individual Studies (PhD Students) G 1-3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered With Faculty Approval
Sociology 5629: Health Disparities in Social Context U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Cynthia Colen, colen.3@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5605: Multicultural Aspects of Communication G 3 (Also 5605D, Distance Education) Spring 2021; MoWe 12:40pm- 2:00pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Caroline Conway; conway.247@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 5732: Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation U G 3 Spring 2021; TuTh 12:45pm- 2:05pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Julie Hazelbaker, Ph.D.,hazelbaker.22@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5760: Neurology of the Speech and Hearing Mechanism U G 3 Spring 2021; Online Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Eric Charles Bielefeld, bielefeld.6@gmail.com
Speech and Hearing Science 6733: Adult Audiologic Rehabilitation U G 3 Spring 2021; MoWe 12:00pm- 1:20pm Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 6735: Hearing Aids I U G 3 Spring 2021; MoWe 9:30am- 10:50am Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 6761:Cognitive Communication Disorders in Adults U G 3 Spring 2021; MoWe 11:30am-12:50 Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Jennifer Lundine, lundine.4@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6762: Language Disorders in Adults U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Stacy Harnish, Ph.D., harnish.18@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6763: Motor Speech Disorders U G 3 Spring 2021; MoWe 10:00am- 11:20am Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Janet Vuolo, vuolo.4@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7806: Adult Hearing Disorders G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu, along with Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7835: Hearing Aids II G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
Theater 5771.08: The Practice of Theatre and Aging U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)
Theatre 5771.07: Crones, Curmudgeons, and Living Treasures U G 3 Spring 2021; Not Currently Offered Summer 2021; Not Currently Offered Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)

Copyright © 2013 The Ohio State University College of Medicine and the Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies, All rights reserved.

If you have a disability and experience difficulty accessing this content, contact aging@osu.edu   Notice of Non-Discrimination