Com logo

Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies

Office of Geriatrics and
Interprofessional Aging Studies

Com logo

Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging



Partially updated February 2020.

Information below is general in regard to semester offering and faculty/instructor.  Please check on buckeyelink for the most up-to-date information or directly with the departments to be sure specific courses will be offered as indicated. 

Learn about some of the instructors below via Aging Connections.

Print Master List

Core Courses

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
Social Work 7610: Integrative Seminar I on Aging and Health G 3 (Required course) Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Fr 8:00am-10:45am; Online, TBA Shannon Jarrott, Ph.D., jarrott.1@osu.edu; Shantha Balaswamy, Ph.D., balaswamy.1@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 7650S: Interdisciplinary Case Studies in Clinical Gerontology U G 2 (Required course) Pre-requisite: SW 7610 Summer 2020; Online Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Cynthia Dougherty, MSW, PhD
MedColl 7700.04 Interprofessional Seminar in Clinical Practice G 2 (Students select either MedColl 7700.04 or Anthro 8193.07) Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu at least one month prior to semester in which you plan to take course.
Anthro 8193.07: Research Issues in Gerontology G 3 (Students select either Anthro 8193.07 or MedColl 7700.04) Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered (Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu with questions regarding this course)

Elective Courses

Elective Courses (Please note: Elective courses identified with an * are intended only for students within the college/school offering the course. All other electives are open to all students pursuing the Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging.)

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
*Anthropology 5193.07: Physical Anthropology, Independent Study
U G 1-4
Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu (Please contact Douglas Crews, Ph.D., at crews.8@osu.edu or 292-1329 for appointment.)
Anthropology 5642: Growth, Development, & Aging U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Anthropology 5645: Biology of Senescence U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Arts & Sciences 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine; Allied Med and Pharmacy) G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
DESIGN 6400: Graduate Design Studio: Future Aging and Social Engagement G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; MoWe 2:30pm-4:45pm Elizabeth Sanders, Ph.D., sanders.82@osu.edu Maria Palazzi, palazii.1@osu.edu
DESIGN 7193: Individual Studies Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; TBA Hui Zheng, along with With Staff Direction
EDUCST 5880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 (Cross-listed in HthRhSc and Nursing and MedColl 6880.01) Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.03: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Ethical issues Common to the Helping Professions U G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
*ESCE 3193.40: Individual Studies U G 1-3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
HDFS 5430: Adult Development and Aging U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Eugene Folden, Ph.D, folden.1@osu.edu
HDFS 993: Individual Studies G 1-5 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered With Faculty direction
HTHRHSC 5600: Global Aging G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TBA Jessica Schoen, shoen.68@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5610: Death, Loss, and Grief From Multiple Perspectives G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Wed 5:00pm-7:00pm Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5620: Aging, Accessibility, and Design U G 3 Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5650: Aging and Public Policy Issues G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TuTh 2:20pm-3:40pm Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5660: Longterm Care Services Across the Continuum G 4 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.01: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Interprofessional Care G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.03: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Ethical Issues Common to Helping Professions UG and G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 6193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; TBA With Faculty Direction
HTHRHSC 7010: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 7193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; TBA With Faculty Direction
KNHES 5493: Fitness Program Development and Evaluation - Older Adult Exercise Prescription G 1 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Faculty Unassigned
KNHES 8999: Independent Study Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; TBA With Faculty Direction
*Law 7193: Individual Studies P 1-4 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TBA
Law 8400: Interprofessional Education: Care of Patient/Client L 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu, along with Marya Kolman, JD, kolman.3@osu.edu
Law 8403: Ethical Issues U P G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Stan Laughlin, JD, laughlin.1@osu.edu
Law 8709: Wills, Trusts and Estates L 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; MonWed 8:00am-9:12am (Au) Ed Segelken, JD, segelken.3@osu.edu, (Spr) Bruce Johnson, johnson.726@osu.edu
MedColl 6880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
MedColl 7710: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences, Pharmacy) G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
MedColl 7795-10: Issues and Trends in Aging G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Online, TBA
Nursing 5111: Palliative and End of Life Care G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Kathy Thompson, RN, Ph.D., thompson.2@osu.edu
Nursing 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Medicine, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Nursing 7193: Individual Studies in Nursing G 1-4 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered With Faculty Direction
*Nursing 7228.01: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum I G 3 Summer 2020; LEC T 8:30AM- 12PM, CLN TBA Fall 2020; LEC We 8:00am- 10:00am, TBA
*Nursing 7228.02: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum II G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Janine Overcash, Ph.D., GNP-BC, janine.overcash@osumc.edu, along with Joyce Karl, Mary Alice Momeyer, Shannon Linder, TBA (CLN)
*Nursing 7268.03: Advanced Practice Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical Practicum III G 4 Didactic Credits Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu, along with Kelly Casler, casler.11@osu.edu Melinda McGaughy, mcgaughy.5@osu.edu Oralea Pittman, pittman.54@osu.edu Timothy Landers, landers.37@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 6120: Occupation in Life and Community G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Mo 9:45am-11:35am
Occ Therapy 7260: Occupational Therapy for Older Adults G 2 Summer 2020; TTH 11:00am- 12:50pm; Online, TBA Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Christine Griffin, griffin.289@osu.edu
Occ Therapy 7280: Advanced Topics in Geriatrics G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Tu 3:30pm-4:55pm
*Optometry 7450.06: Vision Rehabilitation P 1.5 Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; TBA Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
*Optometry 7460: Low Vision Rehabilitation and Gerontology P 5 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
Pharmacy 6193 Independent Study Summer 2020; TBA Fall 2020; TBA With Faculty Direction
Pharmacy 7090: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Allied Med, Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences) G P 1 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Pharmacy 7170: Pain, Palliative Care and Geriatrics P 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Bridget Protus, PharmD, bprotus@hospiscript.com
*Physical Therapy 8050: Topics in Rehabilitation and Long Term Care G 1 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Th 11:10am-12:10am Marka Salsberry, PT, DPT salsberry.10@osu.edu
*Physical Therapy 8270: Geriatric Management G 2 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Th 8:00am-10:05am Deb Kegelmeyer DPT, MS, GCS, Deb.Kegelmeyer@osumc.edu
PUBHEPI 6435: Chronic Disease Epidemiology G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Randall Harris, M.D., Ph.D., harris.44@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 6610: Introduction to Health Care Organization G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TuTh 9:35am-10:55am Jennifer Hefner; hefner.48@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7611: Law and Ethics in Health Care G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Reem Aly, aly.6@osu.edu Efthimios Parasidis, parasidis.1@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7624: Health Economics for Experienced Professionals G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Wendy Xu, PhD, xu.1636@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7640: Mental Health and Disability Policy G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Sandra Tanenbaum, PhD, tanenbaum.1@osu.edu
*Public Health Independent Studies PUBHBIO, PUBHEHS, PUBHHBP, PUBHEPI, PUBHHMP Individual Studies G 1-3 Summer 2020; PUBHBIO & PUBHEPI TBA Fall 2020; PUBHBIO & PUBHEPI TBA With Faculty Direction
Social Work 5009: Family Caregiving: Contemporary Issues, Programs & Policies G 3 (in class and web-based course offered) Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Marisa Sheldon, sheldon.127@osu.edu Jaclyn Gosh
Social Work 5011: Loss and Grief: A Social Work Practice Perspective U G 2 Summer 2020; W 1:30pm- 4:40pm Fall 2020; F 5:30pm-7:15pm Faculty Unassigned
*Social Work 7193: Individual Studies (Masters Students) G 1-3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TBA With Faculty Direction
Social Work 7523: Clinical Social Work Practice with Older Adults G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Diana Kubovcik (community lecturer), kubovcik.1@osu.edu
Social Work 7611: Integrative Seminar II on Aging and Health (Prereq: SW 7610) G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TBA, Online Jeanette Foster, foster.92@osu.edu
*Social Work 8193: Individual Studies (PhD Students) G 1-3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered With Faculty Approval
Sociology 5629: Health Disparities in Social Context U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TuTh 2:20pm-3:40pm, WeFr 9:35am-10:55am Cynthia Colen, colen.3@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5605: Multicultural Aspects of Communication G 3 (Also 5605D, Distance Education) Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TBA Caitlin Cummings, cummings.135@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 5732: Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TuTh 12:45pm-2:05pm Julie Hazelbaker, Ph.D.,hazelbaker.22@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5760: Neurology of the Speech and Hearing Mechanism U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; MoWe 11:10am-12:30pm Eric Charles Bielefeld, bielefeld.6@gmail.com
Speech and Hearing Science 6733: Adult Audiologic Rehabilitation U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 6735: Hearing Aids I U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 6761:Cognitive Communication Disorders in Adults U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Jennifer Lundine, lundine.4@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6762: Language Disorders in Adults U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TuTh 1:00pm-2:20pm Stacy Harnish, Ph.D., harnish.18@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6763: Traumatic Brain Injury in Children and Adults U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Janet Vuolo, vuolo.4@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7806: Adult Hearing Disorders G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; TuTh 6:00pm-7:20pm Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu, along with Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7835: Hearing Aids II G 3 Summer 2020; TTH 9:50am- 11:50am Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
Theater 5771.08: The Practice of Theatre and Aging U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)
Theatre 5771.07: Crones, Curmudgeons, and Living Treasures U G 3 Summer 2020; Not Currently Offered Fall 2020; Not Currently Offered Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)

Copyright © 2013 The Ohio State University College of Medicine and the Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies, All rights reserved.

If you have a disability and experience difficulty accessing this content, contact aging@osu.edu   Notice of Non-Discrimination