Com logo

Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies

Ogg logo Vertical osumc

Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging

2017 - 2018 Academic Year


Updated as of May 2017.

Information related to specific course offerings was obtained directly from departments and course instructors and may change during the academic year. Please check with the departments or Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu to be sure specific courses will be offered as indicated. 

Print Master List

Core Courses

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
Social Work 7610: Integrative Seminar I on Aging and Health G 3 (Required course) Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 Shannon Jarrott, Ph.D., jarrott.1@osu.edu (Au); Shantha Balaswamy, Ph.D., balaswamy.1@osu.edu (Spr)
HTHRHSC 7650S: Interdisciplinary Case Studies in Clinical Gerontology U G 2 (Required course) Pre-requisite: SW 7610 Spring 2018; Summer 2018 Spring faculty unassigned. Summer course, Dr. Meg Teaford, teaford.1@osu.edu (Summer course is taught online as part of the SAGE series.)
MedColl 7700.04 Interprofessional Seminar in Clinical Practice G 2 (Students select either MedColl 7700.04 or Anthro 8193.07) Autumn 2017; Spring 2018; Summer 2018 Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu at least one month prior to semester in which you plan to take course.
Anthro 8193.07: Research Issues in Gerontology G 3 (Students select either Anthro 8193.07 or MedColl 7700.04) Autumn 2017; Spring 2018; Summer 2018 (Contact Cynthia Dougherty at 293-8031 or cynthia.dougherty@osumc.edu with questions regarding this course)

Elective Courses

Elective Courses (Please note: Elective courses identified with an * are intended only for students within the college/school offering the course. All other electives are open to all students pursuing the Graduate Interdisciplinary Specialization in Aging.)

Course Name Semester(s) Faculty
*Anthropology 5193.07: Physical Anthropology, Independent Study
U G 1-4
Ongoing Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu (Please contact Douglas Crews, Ph.D., at 292-1329 for appointment.)
Anthropology 5642: Growth, Development, & Aging U G 3 Not offered 2017-2018 (Offered every other year) Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Anthropology 5645: Biology of Senescence U G 3 Not offered 2017-2018 Douglas E. Crews, Ph.D., crews.8@osu.edu
Arts & Sciences 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine; Allied Med and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2018 Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
DESIGN 6400: Graduate Design Studio: Future Aging and Social Engagement G 3 Not offered 2017-2018 Elizabeth Sanders, Ph.D., sanders.82@osu.edu
DESIGN 7193: Individual Studies Ongoing Elizabeth Sanders, Ph.D., sanders.82@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 Not offered 2017-2018 (May be combined with EDUCST 5880.04S for Spring 2016) Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.03: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Ethical issues Common to the Helping Professions U G 2 Autumn 2017 Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
EDUCST 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Spring 2018 Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
*ESCE 3193.40: Individual Studies U G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
HDFS 5430: Adult Development and Aging U G 3 Summer 2018 Eugene Folden, Ph.D., folden.1@osu.edu
HDFS 993: Individual Studies G 1-5 Ongoing With Faculty direction
HTHRHSC 5600: Global Aging G 3 Summer 2018 (online) Jessica Krok, PhD, Jessica.Krok@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5610: Death, Loss, and Grief From Multiple Perspectives G 2 Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5620: Aging, Accessibility, and Design U G 3 Summer 2018 Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 5650: Aging and Public Policy Issues G 3 Autumn 2017 Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5660: Longterm Care Services Across the Continuum G 4 Spring 2018 Kathryn Maxwell, Ph.D., maxwell.3@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.01: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Interprofessional Care G 2 Not offered 2017-2018 Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.03: Interprofessional Education Seminar on Ethical Issues Common to Helping Professions UG and G 2 Autumn 2017 Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 5880.04S: Interprofessional Education: Collaboration in Urban CommunitiesU G 3 Spring 2018 Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
HTHRHSC 6193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
HTHRHSC 7010: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2018 Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
HTHRHSC 7193: Individual Studies G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
KNHES 5493: Fitness Program Development and Evaluation - Older Adult Exercise Prescription G 1 Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 Faculty Unassigned
KNHES 8999: Independent Study Ongoing
*Law 7193: Individual Studies P 1-4 Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 With Faculty Direction
Law 8400: Interprofessional Education: Care of Patient/Client L 2 Spring 2018 Marya Kolman, JD, kolman.3@osu.edu
Law 8403: Ethical Issues U P G 2 Autumn 2017 Stan Laughlin, JD, laughlin.1@osu.edu
Law 8709: Wills, Trusts and Estates L 3 Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 (Au) Ed Segelken, JD, segelken.3@osu.edu, (Spr) Bruce Johnson, johnson.726@osu.edu
MedColl 6880.01: Interprofessional Education: Seminar on Interprofessional Care U G 2 Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 Antoinette Miranda, Ph.D., miranda.2@osu.edu
MedColl 7710: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Nursing, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences, Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2018 Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
MedColl 7795-10: Issues and Trends in Aging G 2 Autumn 2017 Diana Kubovcik, LISW (Autumn course is taught online as part of the SAGE series.)
Nursing 5111: Palliative and End of Life Care G 2 Spring 2018 Kathy Thompson, RN, Ph.D., thompson.2@osu.edu
Nursing 6110: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Medicine, Allied Medicine, Arts & Sciences and Pharmacy) G 2 Spring 2018 Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Nursing 7193: Individual Studies in Nursing G 1-4 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
*Nursing 7228.01: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum I G 3 Autumn 2017 Mary Alice Momeyer, DNP, ANP-BC, GNP-BC momeyer.1@osu.edu
*Nursing 7228.02: Advance Practice Adult Nursing Clinical Practicum II G 3 Spring 2018 Mary Alice Momeyer, DNP, ANP-BC, GNP-BC momeyer.1@osu.edu
*Nursing 7268.03: Advanced Practice Family Nurse Practitioner Clinical Practicum III G 4 Didactic Credits Spring 2018 Faculty Unassigned
Occ Therapy 6120: Occupation in Life and Community G 2 Not offered 2017-2018
Occ Therapy 7260: Occupational Therapy for Older Adults G 2 Summer 2018 Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
Occ Therapy 7280: Advanced Topics in Geriatrics G 2 Autumn 2017 Monica Robinson, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA monica.robinson@osumc.edu
*Optometry 7450.06: Vision Rehabilitation P 1.5 Ongoing (on quarter basis) Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
*Optometry 7460: Low Vision Rehabilitation and Gerontology P 5 Spring 2017 Roanne Flom, O.D., flom.3@osu.edu
Pharmacy 6193 Independent Study Ongoing With Faculty Direction
Pharmacy 7090: Health Literacy (Cross Listed in Allied Med, Nursing, Medicine, Arts & Sciences) G P 1 Spring 2018 Lorraine Wallace, Ph.D., lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu
*Pharmacy 7170: Pain, Palliative Care and Geriatrics P 3 Spring 2018 Bridget Protus, PharmD, bprotus@hospiscript.com
*Physical Therapy 8050: Topics in Rehabilitation and Long Term Care G 1 Autumn 2017 Marka Salsberry, PT, DPT salsberry.10@osu.edu
*Physical Therapy 8270: Geriatric Management G 2 Autumn 2017 Deb Kegelmeyer DPT, MS, GCS, Deb.Kegelmeyer@osumc.edu
PUBHEPI 6435: Chronic Disease Epidemiology G 3 Not offered 2017-2018 Randall Harris, M.D., Ph.D., harris.44@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 6610: Introduction to Health Care Organization G 3 Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 Allard Dembe, dembe.1@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7611: Law and Ethics in Health Care G 3 Spring 2017 Reem Aly, aly.6@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7624: Health Economics for Experienced Professionals G 3 Spring 2018 Wendy Xu, PhD, xu.1636@osu.edu
PUBHHMP 7640: Mental Health and Disability Policy G 3 Spring 2018 Sandra Tanenbaum, PhD, tanenbaum.1@osu.edu
*Public Health Independent Studies PUBHBIO, PUBHEHS, PUBHHBP, PUBHEPI, PUBHHMP Individual Studies G 1-3 Ongoing With faculty Approval
Social Work 5009: Family Caregiving: Contemporary Issues, Programs & Policies G 3 (in class and web-based course offered) Spring 2018 Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Ph.D., dabelko-schoeny.1@osu.edu; Shannon Jarrott, Ph.D., jarrott.1@osu.edu
Social Work 5011: Loss and Grief: A Social Work Practice Perspective U G 2 Autumn 2017 Faculty Unassigned
*Social Work 7193: Individual Studies (Masters Students) G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Direction
Social Work 7523: Clinical Social Work Practice with Older Adults G 3 Spring 2018 Faculty Unassigned
Social Work 7611: Integrative Seminar II on Aging and Health (Prereq: SW 7610) G 3 Autumn 2017, Spring 2018 Jeanette Foster, foster.92@osu.edu
*Social Work 8193: Individual Studies (PhD Students) G 1-3 Ongoing With Faculty Approval
Sociology 5629: Health Disparities in Social Context U G 3 Not offered 2017-2018 (Offered every other year) Cindy Colen, Ph.D., colen.3@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5605: Multicultural Aspects of Communication G 3 (Also 5605D, Distance Education) Autumn 2017, Spring 2018 Monique Mills, Ph.D., mills.298@osu.edu (Also 5605D, Distance Education)
*Speech and Hearing Science 5732: Introduction to Aural Rehabilitation U G 3 Autumn 2017; Spring 2018 (Au) Larry H. Small, small.121@osu.edu; (Spr) Julie Hazelbaker, Ph.D.,hazelbaker.22@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 5760: Neurology of the Speech and Hearing Mechanism U G 3 Spring 2018 Eric Charles Bielefeld, bielefeld.6@gmail.com
Speech and Hearing Science 6733: Adult Audiologic Rehabilitation U G 3 Spring 2018 Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 6735: Hearing Aids I U G 3 Spring 2018 Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6761:Cognitive Communication Disorders in Adults U G 3 Autumn 2017 Jennifer Brello, M.A., brello.1@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6762: Language Disorders in Adults U G 3 Autumn 2017 Stacy Harnish, Ph.D., harnish.18@osu.edu
Speech and Hearing Science 6763: Traumatic Brain Injury in Children and Adults U G 3 Spring 2018 Stacy Harnish, Ph.D., harnish.18@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7806: Adult Hearing Disorders G 3 Autumn 2017 Christina M. Roup, Ph.D., roup.2@osu.edu, along with Jodi Baxter, Au.D., baxter.216@osu.edu
*Speech and Hearing Science 7835: Hearing Aids II G 3 Summer 2017
Theater 5771.08: The Practice of Theatre and Aging U G 3 Offered as Independent Study Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)
Theatre 5771.07: Crones, Curmudgeons, and Living Treasures U G 3 Offered as Independent Study Joy Reilly, Ph.D. (Contact Dr. Reilly at reilly.3@osu.edu to arrange.)

Copyright © 2013 The Ohio State University College of Medicine and the Office of Geriatrics and Interprofessional Aging Studies, All rights reserved.

If you have a disability and experience difficulty accessing this content, contact aging@osu.edu   Notice of Non-Discrimination